Profile Information

Login Information

or login

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!

DVD + CD Marvin Gaye - Live At Montreux 1980

Product Code: DMGLM
DVD + CD Marvin Gaye - Live At Montreux 1980

Be the first to review this product

Special Price 10.00 CHF

Regular Price: 30.00 CHF




DVD + CD Collectors' edition

On July 7th 1980 Marvin Gaye faced a predominantly jazz loving audience at the 14th Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland. Even though the festival featured some of the most celebrated artists in the jazz world, Motown's premiere soul man was awarded one of the warmest welcomes.

Marvin opens his set with a funk fortified rendition of his 1977 chart topper "Got To Give It Up", instantly creating an irresistible groove that must have converted many doubters in the crowd. He follows this with "Funky Space Reincarnation" and "Come Get To This", which leads seamlessly into another of his atmospheric slow grooving gems, "Let's Get It On".

For over an hour and a half we are able to witness Marvin perform his numerous hits including a medley of his Tammy Terrell duets, "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)" and "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" all delivered with Marvin's renowned passion and vigour. Marvin not only put on a dazzling display, but also proved exactly why he has carved out his own chapter in the soul music story. On record Marvin Gaye is never less than outstanding and on stage always spectacular. Here you can enjoy the best of both worlds, on a specially remastered version producing excellent PCM stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound and DTS 5.1 surround.

Marvin Gaye Jr, vocals; Reginald Mullen, trumpet; Rich Gardner, trumpet; Kush Griffitt, trumpet; David Majal Li, saxophone; Gordon Banks, lead guitar; Howard Westbrook, rhythm guitar; Frank Blair, bass guitar; William "Snoopy" Bryant II, piano; Lonnie Smith, keyboards; Sandra Akaka, congas; Joseph Mayo, congas; Richard Griffiths, horns; Checo Tohomaso, percussion; Preston Mcrae Wilcox, drums; Lecester R. Kentle, vocals; Frankie Bates, vocals; Robert Stevenson, vocals.

CD Tracklist :

Time (to get it together)  /  Got to give it up  / Come Get To This  / Let's Get It On /  If This World Were Mine  / Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing  / Ain't No Mountain High Enough  /  How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) Ain't That Peculiar  / Trouble Man / Distant Lover / Inner City Blues  /  Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)  /  What's Going On

DVD Tracklist :

1. Got To Give It Up 2. Funky Space Reincarnation 3. Come Get To This 4. Let's Get It On 5. After The Dance 6. If This World Were Mine 7. Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing 8. Ain't No Mountain High Enough 9. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) 10. Ain't That Peculiar 11. I'll Be Doggone 12. I Heard It Through The Grapevine 13. Trouble Man 14. Distant Lover 15. Inner City Blues 16. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) 17. What's Going On